4 Months in!

Hi guys.  It’s been too long since my last post but so much has been going on the last several weeks that I haven’t had a chance to give an update.

I am now officially 4 months in to living out of my Jeep!  I can’t believe that I have come this far.  Since my last post, I have sat-house for 3 of my friends.  My first gig was with Anna and lasted 5 days.  I took care of her new home and her precious pooch, Roxie.  The second time was for my friend Mary and lasted 4 days over the Thanksgiving holiday, and I also took care of her darling dog Abbey.  This latest time is as we speak – I am taking care of my friend Deb’s home and her rabbit for 9 days, until January 2.

It’s interesting to “live” in a home for these short periods of time.  It is a comfort, as in “creature” comfort: warm shower, laundry when I need it, sleeping in a bed, cooking and watching TV at my leisure.  You know, the stuff we all do living the normal life. But, the strange thing is, while I have very much enjoyed and appreciate these small respites, I realize I actually miss my Jeep during these times.  I appreciate  my vehicle and all of my belongings so much more.  It’s not that I don’t miss living in a home, it’s that I don’t miss all that goes with it.  The utility bills, the knick-knacks, the storage of items, the furniture to dust, the dishes to do, the bathrooms to clean… It was tough going through the first real Holiday season with out my kids.  No dinner to cook, no tree to decorate and no presents to proudly display beneath it.  Bittersweet is the only word I can think of to describe it. It is a big ending in a way, but also a big beginning for me.

I recently made a huge life decision – one that scares the shit out of me, but also feels right.  I am leaving my high-paying, thankless job and moving to the Pacific Northwest.  I have no employment lined up yet, but I do have some prospects.  What money I have saved should give me about 2 months to make this happen.  I don’t know what kind of job I will get, but I am not worried about it.  I do not know a soul where I am going, but I am not worried about that either. I feel like I am on this giant cliff, and it’s time to take a swan-dive.  I thought living in my vehicle was venturing off into the unknown, but this decision is far more uncertain, and honestly quite exciting.

I will be leaving the beautiful Rocky Mountains on January 14, and making the 22 hour drive up to Bellingham, WA.  There I will drive onto a ferry, and drive off on San Juan Island.  I really can’t explain why I chose this spot, but my gut tells me to go.  I will post during my trip and also share some videos along the way.  I really hope you have had a fabulous Holiday Season and cheers to the New Year!

I can’t wait to see what’s next – anchors aweigh!

 

Leave a Reply

